ISPNE presents several awards to distinguished researchers and young investigators at its Annual Conference. Among these awards are the prestigious Bruce McEwen Lifetime Achievement Award  (renamed in 2020) and the Dirk Hellhammer Award (renamed from Curt Richter Award in 2021). Members are welcome to nominate colleagues for awards by contacting ISPNE president Emma Adam at the following email address: [email protected].

2023 Award Recipients


L to R:  Robert Kumsta, PhD, University of Luxemburg, Jonathan Seckl, PhD, University of Edinburgh, Elizabeth (Birdie) Shirtcliff, PhD, University of Oregon, Clemens Kirschbaum, PhD, TU Dresden.

Early Career Scholar Awards

ISPNE has traditionally awarded around ten awards of $500 USD each to Early Career Scholars attending the annual conference. For the 2024 virtual conference, generous sponsorship has allowed ISPNE to reduce fees for all Early Career Scholar ISPNE members in lieu of travel honorariums.

The awards are determined based on the quality and originality of the abstract submitted for poster, oral or symposium presentation. Two additional Awards have been offered since 2021, sponsored by Elsevier, that are dedicated to researchers from low- and middle-income countries. 

All Early Career Scholars who submit an abstract for a presentation to the annual conference are eligible. No additional application is required.

The decision is made by the organizing committee of each conference and communicated on the first day of the conference.

For more information, contact [email protected]


2023 Poster Trainee Recognition Awards

Congratulations to the 2023 recipients of the Early Career Scholar Awards for the highest rated abstracts submitted by early career scholar ISPNE members. Awards were presented for the 2023 Annual Conference held in London, United Kingdom.

Rita Amiel Castro, University of Zurich
Andrea Ballesio, Sapienza University of Rome 
Emily Barr, Simon Fraser University Coquitlam
Chiara BottanellIstituto Centro San Giovanni di Dio Fatebenefratelli
Fabiana Corsi-Zuelli, Student University of São Paulo, Ribeirão Preto Medical School 
Karin de Punder, University of Innsbruck
LillyBelle Deer, University of Denver 
Lotte Gerritsen, Utrecht University
Sanne Houtenbos, University of Potsdam
Jennifer Khoury, Mount Saint Vincent University Halifax
Meital Mashash, University of California
Giulia Petrillo, Università degli studi di Milano
Rebecca Pollard, King's College London 
Kristin von Majewski, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg Munich
Juan Yang, Southwest University, China Chongqing